top of page
What is an Authority?

A Municipal Authority is a form of special-purpose governmental unit in Pennsylvania. The municipal authority is an alternate vehicle for accomplishing public purposes without the direct action of counties, municipalities and school districts. These purposes commonly include the acquisition, financing, construction and operation of projects such as water supply and sewer systems, airports, transit systems, parking garages, flood control systems, parks, and similar entities. An authority may fix and collect rentals or other charges and may issue revenue bonds. A board appointed by the establishing government or governments governs each authority.


A municipal authority may be said to be an independent corporate agent of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, exercising governmental, as well as private corporate power, in assisting the Commonwealth in meeting the needs of its citizens. Most, but not all, municipal authorities operate under Pennsylvania's Municipality Authorities Act.

Union Township Municipal Authority
1445 East Main Street
Douglassville, PA  19518
610.582.3769 ext 4

The Union Township Municipal Authority was formed in March of 1973 to administer the sewer and water systems in Union Township.

UTMA Board (five year term)

  • Mark Matthews, Chairman - (term expires 12/31/24)

  • Phillip Reyna- Vice Chairman (term expires 12/31/25)

  • Lee Bunczk - (term expires 12/31/28)

  • Robin Graham, Secretary/Treasurer - (term expires 12/31/27)

  • Heather Heltziner - (term expires 12/31/26)

Bills are sent out quarterly.  Residents can view their bills, history and usage online.  Residents can also pay online using ACH or by using a credit card (Please note there is a convenience fee).  Click on the button above for online access.


Click below to view the minutes.

Municipal Authority Minutes

Geigertown Area Joint Authority

The Geigertown Area Joint Authority was formed in 2010 between Union and Robeson Townships.  GAJA was formed to provide sewerage to the Geigertown Area.  Currently, the project should be started in the upcoming months.

GAJA BOARD (five year term)

  • Nancy Beaton, Vice-Chairman - (term expires 12/31/25)

  • Isaac Jones - (term expires 12/31/25)

  • Peggy MacLean, Secretary - (term expires 12/31/26)

  • Lee Bunczk - (term expires 12/31/25)

  • Harold Steve, Chairman - (term expires 12/31/24)


to view where the sewer lines are proposed for the Geigertown Area.

Click the link below to view the minutes.  We are currently working on making the latest minutes available.


bottom of page